Tautara Matawhaura Trust


The Tautara Matawhaura Trust is established under S438 of the Maori Affairs Act.  It continues as an Ahu Whenua Trust under the Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993.
The block name is Matawhaura 3. 

The Trust Lands comprising some 3618 ha are located at the western end of Lake Rotoehu. 

Important Dates 


The Trust's assets are vested in trustees who have been elected by the owners and appointed by the Maori Land Court.

The current trustees are:-

Tony Whata (Chairman) 
Morris Meha 
Davey Gardiner 
Atikini Taiatini 
Katie Paul

The Trust’s secretary is Martin Kinder from Deloitte

Trust advisers 
The trustees employ advisers to assist them from time to time in various specialist areas. 
They are:

Accountants:   Deloitte
Solicitors:    McKechnie Quirke & Lewis
Forest Consultant:    PF Olsens
Farm Consultant:    AgFirst Consultants Ltd



The trust's lands are used for a variety of purposes:- 

1674ha – in pasture and used to farm sheep and beef 
132ha –  eucalyptus plantations owned by the Trust
 435ha - cut over eucalyptus blocks
149ha – in pine forest, owned by the Trust 

The balance of the block of approx 1325ha is in bush or areas retired as Maori Reservation.



Full policies are being developed by the trustees. 

A kaumatua grant of $100 for shareholders aged 70 and over was declared in October 2010 and will be paid to all qualifying shareholders in November 2010.

Education grants are available to shareholders and descendants of shareholders enroled in a tertiary institution and undertaking an NZQA (or equivalent) approved course.  Applications open annually in January and close at the end of April.  View Grants & Scholarships.


Copies of full Annual Reports and Financial statements are available at the General Meetings, and are available to owners on request from the secretary’s office.